Autonomie Project

Advanced technology to serve the handicapped

Français

Search:

News from Autonomie project

The contest of application devoted to human assistance living has been announced by STMicroelectronics in the context of Autonomie project March, 15th, 2011. You may subscribe onstm32circle.com. Learn more...

Technology to serve the disabled

The Autonomie project develops tools based on advanced technology that enhance the independence of people with vision impairments. These tools are intended to facilitate mobility both indoors and outdoors, and to facilitate access to public transport. The project is firmly set against a backdrop of technological and social innovation, exploring how best to exploit web and mobile phone technologies to enable people with disabilities to live in their city.

Background and legislation

The number of disabled people in France is estimated at about 10% of the population, or around 6 million people. Our research and development project is particularly interested in assisting the mobility of people who are blind or visually impaired, which is about 1 million people. The French law LOI No. 2005-102 of 11 February 2005 for equal rights and opportunities, participation and citizenship of people with disabilities notably includes the need to offer to all the opportunity to move without interruption about the city and public buildings.

The project team

The Autonomie project, backed by the Minalogic global competitiveness cluster in Grenoble, is funded by the European Union through the ERDF with the participation of large industrial groups, SMEs, research institutes and the local community in a multidisciplinary consortium:

This consortium is a reflection of the rich potential at the Grenoble area. It showcases local skills: research, advanced technologies and strong social history.

Collaboration with Associations for the visually impaired

Because we believe that technology must serve the human, the project is establishing a strong collaboration with visually impaired people and associations. The involvement of blind and partially sighted people in the phases of requirements definition, final testing, and in between is considered a key point of the project.

Expanding the technology developed towards other horizons

The Autonomie project focuses on visual impaired people but keeps in mind the possibility of applying the technologies developed for other forms of disabilities and different markets. We can mention here for example the fields of sport or security, areas where the 'augmented reality' concepts used to guide visually impaired people may apply.

In this spirit of applying technology for meeting basic needs, the Autonomie project is promoting an innovation competion with the theme of personal assistance based on advanced technology.

FEDER logo minalogic logo
ST logo ST Ericsson logo
Raisonance logo Ives logo
INRIA logo Université Joseph Fourier logo
TAG logo Grenoble - Alpes Metropole logo
SMTClogo

Projet Autonomie

La haute technologie au service du handicap

English

Recherche sur le site :

Des nouvelles du projet Autonomie

Le concours sur le thème de l’aide à la personne a été annoncé le 15 mars 2011 par STMicroelectronics dans le cadre du projet Autonomie. Les inscriptions se font sur le site stm32circle.com. En savoir plus ...

La technologie au service du handicap

Le projet Autonomie développe des outils basés sur la haute technologie pour améliorer l’autonomie des personnes déficientes visuelles. Ces outils visent à faciliter le déplacement, à l’intérieur ou l’extérieur des bâtiments et à faciliter l’accès aux transports publics. Le projet se place résolument dans un contexte d’innovation technique et social, en essayant d’exploiter au mieux les technologies du web et celles disponibles sur les téléphones mobiles pour permettre aux personnes handicapées de mieux vivre dans leur ville.

Constat et cadre Législatif

Le nombre de personnes handicapées en France est estimé à environ 10% de la population, soit autour de 6 millions de personnes. Notre projet de Recherche et développement s’intéresse plus particulièrement au déplacement de personnes non voyantes ou malvoyantes, qui constituent environ 1 millions de personnes. La loi française LOI n° 2005-102 du 11 février 2005 pour l'égalité des droits et des chances, la participation et la citoyenneté des personnes handicapées précise notamment la nécessité d’offrir à tous la possibilité de se déplacer dans la ville et dans les bâtiments publics sans rupture de continuité dans le déplacement.

L'équipe projet

Le projet Autonomie, labelisé par le pôle de compétitivité mondial grenoblois Minalogic, est financé par l’union européenne via le fond FEDER et réunit dans un consortium multidisciplinaire, Grands groupes, PME, instituts de recherche et collectivité locales :

Ce consortium est le reflet du riche potentiel présent sur le bassin Grenoblois. Il met en valeur les compétences locales : recherche, hautes technologies et histoire sociale forte.

Collaborations avec les associations

Parce que nous croyons que la technologie doit être au service de l’humain, le projet met en place une forte collaboration avec les personnes déficientes visuelles et les associations. L’implication des personnes non voyantes et malvoyantes dans les phases de définition des besoins, tests finaux et intermédiaires est considérée comme un point clef du projet.

Ouverture de la technologie développée vers d’autres horizons

Le projet Autonomie se concentre sur les personnes déficientes visuelles mais garde à l’esprit la possibilité d’appliquer les technologies développées pour d’autres formes de déficiences mais aussi à d’autres types de marché. Citons ainsi pour l’exemple les domaines du jeu ou de la sécurité, domaines où les concepts de réalité augmentée mis en œuvre pour guider les personnes déficientes visuelles pourraient s’appliquer. Dans cet esprit d’ouverture de la technologie vers les besoins essentiels, le projet Autonomie accueille en son sein un concours d’innovation basé sur des techniques avancées et sur le thème de l’aide à la personne.

FEDER logo minalogic logo
ST logo ST Ericsson logo
Raisonance logo Ivès logo
INRIA logo Université Joseph Fourier logo
TAG logo Grenoble - Alpes Metropole logo
SMTClogo